[Mod] i3 [1.6.2] [i3]

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

[Mod] i3 [1.6.2] [i3]

by jp » Post

Image

A next-generation inventory

This mod features a modern, powerful inventory menu with a good user experience.

i3 provides a rich API for mod developers who want to extend it.

This mod requires Minetest 5.4+ and is licensed under MIT.

List of features:
  • Crafting Guide (survival mode only)
  • Progressive Mode¹
  • Quick Crafting
  • 3D Player Model Real-Time Preview
  • Isometric Map Preview
  • Inventory Sorting (+ options: compression, reverse mode, automation, etc.)
  • Item List Compression (moreblocks is supported)
  • Item Bookmarks
  • Waypoints
  • Bags
  • Home
¹ This mode is a Terraria-like system that shows recipes you can craft from items you ever had in your inventory. To enable it: i3_progressive_mode = true in minetest.conf.

This mod officially supports the following mods: Recommendations

To use this mod in the best conditions:
  • Use LuaJIT
  • Use a HiDPI widescreen display
  • Use the default Freetype font style
Troubleshooting

If the inventory's font size is too big on certain setups (namely Windows 10/11 or 144 DPI display), you should lower the value of the setting display_density_factor in your minetest.conf. Note that the change is applied after restart.

Notes

i3 uses a larger inventory than the usual inventories in Minetest games. Thus, most chests will be unadapted to this inventory size.
The i3 inventory is 9 slots wide by default, such as Minecraft.

For server admins: I'm proposing paid services to develop some modules to i3, designed for your specific needs. They could be proprietary or open-source, at your convenience.

Report any bug on the Bug Tracker.

Image Download

Image GitHub

Image

Love this mod? Donations are appreciated: https://www.paypal.me/jpg84240

Video review on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xd14BCdEZ3o

Image
+ Spoiler
Last edited by jp on Mon May 02, 2022 17:16, edited 38 times in total.

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by daret » Post

Great mod. Probably the best UI for minetest.

I would have 2 suggestions/quuestions:
  1. Could the mod turn of progressive, if I'm in creative?
    - it is a little bit weird if I'm in creative and don't see all the elements.
  2. How can I deselect an item to hide crafting guide part again?
    - once I select the element in Items, I can not hide the crafting guide.

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by daret » Post

One more think.

If I'm in creative, then I can not see the crafting guide, because left clock gives the item to inventory.
It's a pity because it looks super and sometimes it is good to get information about the recipe even in creative.

Maybe you could let the left click to show the crafting guide and the right click could be used to add the item to inventory.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by jp » Post

daret wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 23:22
Maybe you could let the left click to show the crafting guide and the right click could be used to add the item to inventory.
That's something not possible currently due to engine limitations. But all good points (will be addressed soon).

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by daret » Post

jp wrote:
Thu Feb 25, 2021 00:37
That's something not possible currently due to engine limitations. But all good points (will be addressed soon).
Hmmm, I really like minetest, but some engine function decisions are beyond my understanding.
Is double-click possible?

User avatar
debiankaios
Member
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 12:48
GitHub: belongs_to_microsoft
IRC: debiankaios
In-game: debiankaios Nowe
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by debiankaios » Post

Best inventory mod which i know. Better then unifieted inventory. But i need MT 5.4.0+, and many uses 5.3.0-

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by v-rob » Post

daret wrote:
Thu Feb 25, 2021 13:20
jp wrote:
Thu Feb 25, 2021 00:37
That's something not possible currently due to engine limitations. But all good points (will be addressed soon).
Hmmm, I really like minetest, but some engine function decisions are beyond my understanding.
Is double-click possible?
Double-clicking, right/middle clicking, keyboard shortcuts, etc are all currently in-progress of being added to the engine. See GitHub pull request #8679.
Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

User avatar
MeseCraft
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 22:52

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by MeseCraft » Post

I'll need to wait for version 5.4 to hit the repositories I use before I can use this, but I'm looking forward to trying it.
I think showing the string name for nodes to players is a bit ugly. Could you add a settingstype to show/hide the string name under the node name?
Image
🌎 Website | ⛏️ MeseCraft Game | 📰 News | 🖌️ ContentDB

Vindelle_Pounze
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 22:06

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by Vindelle_Pounze » Post

Hey jp,
I do very much like this. There is something I'd like you to rethink. Your inventory kinda breaks the "shift-click", now items go straight to the trashbin if you shift-click them to the crafting grid (oh, sadly I just destroyed a stack of wood, damn)...which at least for me is common for doing tons of planks for example.
Shift-clicking stuff from the crafting grid to inventory just doesn't do anything anymore...which is not exactly how I'd consider it to be done.
EDIT: Addition
The great addition in the transition (from 0.4 to 0.5) to be able to shift-click your armor pieces to the respective places is also gone with this...don't know how many players waited for that (just me?)

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by jp » Post

Hey Vindelle,

Thanks for your feedback.

In this mod, all item lists are on the same page, unlike the Minetest Game inventory. Which mean that "shift-click" can only work to one of these lists: crafting grid OR trashbin OR armor slots.

I'm wondering which one is the most handful to use shift-click with.

Vindelle_Pounze
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 22:06

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by Vindelle_Pounze » Post

Thanks for responding.
jp wrote:
Tue Mar 16, 2021 18:32

In this mod, all item lists are on the same page, unlike the Minetest Game inventory. Which mean that "shift-click" can only work to one of these lists: crafting grid OR trashbin OR armor slots.

I'm wondering which one is the most handful to use shift-click with.
I see.
If it were up to me I'd say it is being able to shift-click the armor pieces to their respective slots then. Just because the shift-click to the crafting grid is not really needed.
I'd say that stuff going to the trash is unexpected and had it been a stack of diamonds I had accidentally dumped to trash I had at least been...well, let's say "sad".

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by jp » Post

I eventually chose the crafting grid because Minecraft does it.

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by daret » Post

Vindelle_Pounze wrote:
Thu Mar 18, 2021 00:24
I'd say that stuff going to the trash is unexpected and had it been a stack of diamonds I had accidentally dumped to trash I had at least been...well, let's say "sad".
That is really sad :)

@jp
Could you implement a settingtypes Variable to drop item instead of delete it.
This would be better for survival.

(You know like in PVP someone is going to kill you and you better destroy your thing, than let them to your opponent)

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by jp » Post

No sorry, I'm not gonna add a setting for things like hiding the itemstring, hiding the backpacks or change the shift-click behavior.

If I had to listen everyone, there would a setting for every single part of the inventory, that is sick. There are careful choices for everyone for the tiny features, and settings for the big features such like the progressive mode, and that's it.

Sorry guys, your perfect inventory simply doesn't exist (or fork/make your own).

User avatar
daret
Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 20:36
GitHub: daretmavi
In-game: Daretmavi

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by daret » Post

jp wrote:
Thu Mar 18, 2021 13:08
Sorry guys, your perfect inventory simply doesn't exist (or fork/make your own).
You are right, there is no perfect inventory, but i3 is damn close :D

Take it like brainstorming, no idea is bad.
It's your mod, so you can listen to users and implement ideas, or not.

Still, great work.

User avatar
MeseCraft
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 22:52

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by MeseCraft » Post

JP, That's fine. Its just a suggestion. Seeing the item sting is nice for devs/debug, but its an ugly underbelly that shouldn't be shown to players in a UI. I'm sure its a simple things to uncomment out from the mod. I'm not too worried about it. Good luck with your project.
🌎 Website | ⛏️ MeseCraft Game | 📰 News | 🖌️ ContentDB

wsor4035
Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 21:23
GitHub: wsor4035
IRC: wsor
In-game: wsor

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by wsor4035 » Post

trying some things out and tweaked the hotbar provided by i3: https://imgur.com/a/3axQegd
default for reference: https://imgur.com/a/R3WfM8F
j5uBLfc6NxgersvVj5D5dIsiKDkoQb0o

cuthbertdoublebarrel
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 16:03
GitHub: cuthbert

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by cuthbertdoublebarrel » Post

Vindelle_Pounze wrote:
Thu Mar 18, 2021 00:24
I'd say that stuff going to the trash is unexpected and had it been a stack of diamonds I had accidentally dumped to trash I had at least been...well, let's say "sad".
thats why i dig a hole and drag and drop trash out of the inventory direct .
funny how you cant carry any more items , yet still manage to carry a trashcan to put stuff in .
Project BrutalTest...hide your Petz

cuthbertdoublebarrel
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 16:03
GitHub: cuthbert

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by cuthbertdoublebarrel » Post

jp wrote:
Thu Mar 18, 2021 13:08
Sorry guys, your perfect inventory simply doesn't exist
oh it does but i am forced to use this one at present .
do you have plans to add any support for addons ? poi , named waypoints , home button etc ,
Project BrutalTest...hide your Petz

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by jp » Post

wsor4035 wrote:
Fri Mar 19, 2021 14:12
trying some things out and tweaked the hotbar provided by i3: https://imgur.com/a/3axQegd
This looks quite good.
cuthbertdoublebarrel wrote:
Fri Mar 19, 2021 14:37
do you have plans to add any support for addons ? poi , named waypoints , home button etc ,
What is "poi"?
Waypoints are planned.
Home button is cheating.

cuthbertdoublebarrel
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 16:03
GitHub: cuthbert

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by cuthbertdoublebarrel » Post

jp wrote:
Fri Mar 19, 2021 17:37
cuthbertdoublebarrel wrote:
Fri Mar 19, 2021 14:37
do you have plans to add any support for addons ? poi , named waypoints , home button etc ,
What is "poi"?
Waypoints are planned.
Home button is cheating.
points of interest.
you dont get to dictate to others what is cheating in thier games.
you got a trashcan in the inventory . yet you are not carrying a trashcan full of discarded items so that must be cheating too ?.
keep in mind there is no set game and no set rules of how to play in a sandbox.
Project BrutalTest...hide your Petz

User avatar
Minix
Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 13:51
In-game: Minix

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by Minix » Post

Hello jp, I am testing this mod on my server running minetest 5.4.0 commit d1ec5117d9095c75aca26a98690e4fcc5385e98c, so far it looks really nice, it is not bloated, as an inventory should be.

I am getting a crash when a player with a client version prior to 5.4.0 dies:

Code: Select all

2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'i3' in callback on_dieplayer(): ...server/.minetest/worlds/world//worldmods/i3/init.lua:2814: attempt to index local 'data' (a nil value)
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]:       ...server/.minetest/worlds/world//worldmods/i3/init.lua:2814: in function '?'
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]:       .../minetest-5.4.0-dev/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:426: in function <.../minetest-5.4.0-dev/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:410>
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]:       [C]: in function 'set_hp'
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]:       ...n/../games/minetest_game/mods/game_commands/init.lua:13: in function 'func'
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]:       ...vers/minetest-5.4.0-dev/bin/../builtin/game/chat.lua:74: in function '?'
2021-03-24 03:45:30: ERROR[Main]:       .../minetest-5.4.0-dev/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:426: in function <.../minetest-5.4.0-dev/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:410>
I tested this using a 5.3.0 client but I guess it could happen with older versions as well. Also note that it happens on a server with just MTG.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by jp » Post

Hey Minix, thanks for the report. This is fixed in git now.

User avatar
Minix
Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 13:51
In-game: Minix

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by Minix » Post

Thanks jp, now it does not crash, I will keep testing it on my server

SFENCE
Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 07:13
GitHub: SFENCE
In-game: SFENCE

Re: [Mod] i3 [1.0] [i3]

by SFENCE » Post

Maybe a bug:

In default minetest game, I see in i3 recipes recipe for getting cotton seeds by digging wild cotton. But there is no visible recipe for getting farming:cotton from wild cotton by digging.
cdb_3P0AYqjEIn68

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests