Map generation, empty or flat worlds and world extents.

mrtops

Map generation, empty or flat worlds and world extents.

by mrtops » Post

Hi All

I'm new to minetest modding and was wondering if anyone can help me out with this question:

Is it possible to start in an empty world (no blocks) or flat world (a single plane of blocks)?

How would you organise this?

I could write a Lua script to loop through every possible {x,y,z} and 'dig' the blocks but that seems like an extreme approach.

Could I simply delete all the data from the the sqlite database?

Also, does any know what the extents of the default maps are i.e. {-x,-y,-z} to {x,y,z}?

And, finally, is the entire map generated at the start, or do new areas get added to the database as you explore?

Thanks

sfan5
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Post

There is a Flatland Mod
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

cornernote

by cornernote » Post

this mod will disable all mapgen, creating a void world... you will need something like worldedit to place the 1st block:

https://github.com/cornernote/minetest-no_mapgen

mrtops

by mrtops » Post

cornernote wrote:this mod will disable all mapgen, creating a void world... you will need something like worldedit to place the 1st block:

https://github.com/cornernote/minetest-no_mapgen

Had a look at this.

It looks like it's overriding the default objects with "air", which seems like the right idea, except I'm not sure where to stick it.

Tried just dumping into the mods directory but I got the "unable to load message". Does it go into the mods folder or elsewhere?

Thanks

P.S. I did check the linefeed characters to see if it was a windows / linux issue but it appears not to be.

cornernote

by cornernote » Post

you have to rename it without the dashes (-). Just naming it "no_mapgen" should work.

mrtops

by mrtops » Post