[Mod] Smelter [0.1] [smelter]

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

[Mod] Smelter [0.1] [smelter]

by MasterGollum » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:38

This MOD introduces a new kind of Furnace called Smelter. It is intended for provide a mean for smelt materials, for example to create alloys in a more realistic way. This MOD adds also a new kind of crafts (smelting) with a 2x2 grid.

The first release transform iron_ore in iron_ingot also iron_ingot + coal_lump in steel_ingot as example of uses.

CRAFT for a Smelter
[clay brick] [clay brick] [clay brick]
[clay brick] [] [clay brick]
[clay brick] [clay brick] [clay brick]

For developers:

Anyone that intends to define a new smelting they MUST be registered with the crafter MOD.

Examples:
crafter.register_craft({
type = "smelting",
output = "smelter:iron_ingot",
recipe = {
{"default:iron_lump"}
}
})

crafter.register_craft({
type = "smelting",
output = "default:steel_ingot",
recipe = {
{"smelter:iron_ingot"},
{"default:coal_lump"}
}
})


Images:
Image

License: WTFPL.

Depends: default, crafter (http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=48534)

Download: https://github.com/MasterGollum/smelter/zipball/master

Releases:
Version 0.1 Initial release
Last edited by MasterGollum on Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:33, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:45

Maybe you can use bricks to craft it? It would be a bit more realistic.
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:54

PilzAdam wrote:Maybe you can use bricks to craft it? It would be a bit more realistic.


Umm can be, I'm not sure if ancient smelters were done with bricks. There are several civilizations that worked with metals but they didn't use bricks (well as long as I know, maybe is required further investigation). I did it with cobbles because the furnace is also done with cobbles. It is like a reinforced furnace :P

The node sucks a little but a smelter looks like a stone cylinder with a hole
http://www.ehow.com/how_4856726_build-metal-smelter.html
In our case, a cube "holed" :)
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:56

btw is it possible to unregister a craft? For example to remove the iron lump -> steel ingot to force to use the smelter
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:10

MasterGollum wrote:btw is it possible to unregister a craft? For example to remove the iron lump -> steel ingot to force to use the smelter

I also thought about that but I think its not possible.
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:36

PilzAdam wrote:
MasterGollum wrote:btw is it possible to unregister a craft? For example to remove the iron lump -> steel ingot to force to use the smelter

I also thought about that but I think its not possible.


I thought twice and I changed the recipe as you suggested, also because it adds complexity to the building of a smelter. Otherwise it is too easy to create steel from the game.

It is a shame, so the only way is to provide a default/init.lua patched?
Last edited by MasterGollum on Mon Oct 29, 2012 11:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
GloopMaster
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 18:03
Location: http://minetest.net/forum/

by GloopMaster » Mon Oct 29, 2012 13:39

Um... Yeah.

Also, make this use technic alloy furnace recipes as well (detect technic then the recipes) and you will be god.
Meow.

That is all.
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Mon Oct 29, 2012 14:25

GloopMaster wrote:Um... Yeah.

Also, make this use technic alloy furnace recipes as well (detect technic then the recipes) and you will be god.


Oh do you mean this?
http://technicpack.wikia.com/wiki/Alloy_Furnace
Lol I didn't know it existed! :)

Well I was planning to do a release of moreores for the Smelter, where the alloys must be crafted using this item. BTW looking at the recipe and image I will change my recipe and the textures :P Maybe I can do 2 versions of the Smelter one simple done as the original recipe I did that doesn't reach a high temperature, and then a more advanced crafted with the bricks that allows to smelt anything inside.
Last edited by MasterGollum on Mon Oct 29, 2012 14:25, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
GloopMaster
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 18:03
Location: http://minetest.net/forum/

by GloopMaster » Mon Oct 29, 2012 23:19

No, i mean technic mod for minetest. If you havent been living under a rock, you should know what it is.
Meow.

That is all.
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Mon Oct 29, 2012 23:30

GloopMaster wrote:No, i mean technic mod for minetest. If you havent been living under a rock, you should know what it is.


Oh ok, never used it :P I'm more old fashioned, it looked... well too technic to me. It will require another version of the technic Mod changing the recipes for use the Smelter. I already did it with moreores, and added zinc, lead and brass. After test it I will upload here the link.
 

User avatar
GloopMaster
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 18:03
Location: http://minetest.net/forum/

by GloopMaster » Mon Oct 29, 2012 23:42

i more wanted to have a non-electric alloy furnace.
Meow.

That is all.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:13

MasterGollum wrote:Oh ok, never used it :P I'm more old fashioned, it looked... well too technic to me.

+1
 

User avatar
GloopMaster
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 18:03
Location: http://minetest.net/forum/

by GloopMaster » Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:32

PilzAdam wrote:
MasterGollum wrote:Oh ok, never used it :P I'm more old fashioned, it looked... well too technic to me.

+1


O.o you crazy, its not too technic till there's spaceships.
Meow.

That is all.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Tue Oct 30, 2012 15:40

Alloy Furnace and Electric alloy furnace already exists in technic, zinc, brass, stainless steel and some other stuff too ;)
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Sun May 12, 2013 21:17

Does it cook faster than a regular furnace? if so, how?
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Sun May 12, 2013 21:34

RealBadAngel wrote:Alloy Furnace and Electric alloy furnace already exists in technic, zinc, brass, stainless steel and some other stuff too ;)


What allows this mod is to be able to create your own smelt recipes.
 

User avatar
MasterGollum
Member
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 14:48

by MasterGollum » Sun May 12, 2013 21:34

Dan Duncombe wrote:Does it cook faster than a regular furnace? if so, how?


No, it is not more faster.
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Sun Nov 17, 2013 00:29

Is it intentional that the smelter does not consume fuel?
If not, you can fix it easily by taking this code from the end of the ABM:
Code: Select all
        meta:set_string("fuel_totaltime", fuel.time)
        meta:set_string("fuel_time", 0)
        if consume then
          local stack = inv:get_stack("fuel", 1)
          stack:take_item()
          inv:set_stack("fuel", 1, stack)
    end


And replacing it with this code:
Code: Select all
        meta:set_string("fuel_totaltime", fuel.time)
        meta:set_string("fuel_time", 0)

        inv:set_stack("fuel", 1, cooked.item[1])

Other than that, this mod is awesome. It should be added to minetest_game ASAP.
Last edited by SegFault22 on Sun Nov 17, 2013 00:46, edited 1 time in total.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.
 

User avatar
durtective6
Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 14:19
Location: a shed in the desert
In-game: derplez or BlockFrog

by durtective6 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 16:20

uh when i try and put things to smelt in the top right corner slot it gives this error

16:19:25: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: ...8-win32-msvc\minetest-0.4.8\bin\..\mods\crafter\init.lua:91: attempt to index a nil value
16:19:25: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
16:19:25: ERROR[main]: ...8-win32-msvc\minetest-0.4.8\bin\..\mods\crafter\init.lua:91: in function '_check_craft'
16:19:25: ERROR[main]: ...8-win32-msvc\minetest-0.4.8\bin\..\mods\crafter\init.lua:26: in function 'get_craft_result'
16:19:25: ERROR[main]: ...8-win32-msvc\minetest-0.4.8\bin\..\mods\smelter\init.lua:100: in function <...8-win32-msvc\minetest-0.4.8\bin\..\mods\smelter\init.lua:81>

EDIT: that world i used it in can no longer be used as it crashes upon loading, giving the same error
Last edited by durtective6 on Thu Dec 12, 2013 16:22, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Christian9
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 20:29
Location: Hell Creek
In-game: Christian9

Re: [Mod] Smelter [0.1] [smelter]

by Christian9 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 00:02

is there a way to edit this to add a new crafting method? im trying to add "extraction" for my dinosaur mod but it doesnt work it keeps saying hacky_swap_node a nil value ive tried removeing hacky_ but it wont work
 


Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests