(CLOSED)

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

(CLOSED)

by 2232 » Post

$$$
Last edited by 2232 on Mon Jul 22, 2013 18:41, edited 1 time in total.
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

2232 wrote:I try to craft a door (6 on one side,) but it wont work. I have minecraft 4.3
'doors' is a separate mod under "minetest_game/mods", so you miss it there or you are playing "minimal", which hasn't got a 'doors' mod.

Edit: typo
Last edited by Topywo on Wed Dec 26, 2012 21:14, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

2232 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
2232 wrote:I try to craft a door (6 on one side,) but it wont work. I have minecraft 4.3
This is a mineTEST forum not a mineCRAFT forum. :-)
YES, I know that. I went onto minetest wiki, and it said for me to build a door with 6 wood on one side.
I was just joking. Look at the smiley face.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

by 2232 » Post

jojoa1997 wrote:
2232 wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote: This is a mineTEST forum not a mineCRAFT forum. :-)
YES, I know that. I went onto minetest wiki, and it said for me to build a door with 6 wood on one side.
I was just joking. Look at the smiley face.
Have a nice rest of the year.
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

Redownload the game or open minetest the games then minetest then mods and see if you have doors installed
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

by 2232 » Post

Chinchow wrote:Redownload the game or open minetest the games then minetest then mods and see if you have doors installed
another question: if I remove minetest from my computer, will I lose any of my data?? I will try that.
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

Like worlds? Just copy your worlds into your new minetest
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

by 2232 » Post

Chinchow wrote:Like worlds? Just copy your worlds into your new minetest
um, ok. I have linux- will that make a difference?? I installed it using Ubuntu Software Center.
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

Not sure as I use windows and have never used Linux you have foldersyes?
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

by 2232 » Post

idk. im new to linux./
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

Well this might be a problem gimme a sec
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

Why does Linux have to be so much more complicated? Anyway I suggest you redownload the game
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

2232 wrote:Linux is for people who.... Um. I guess for work??? anyways- Im just going to try to use mods.
how do you name your mods?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

2232 wrote:
Chinchow wrote:Like worlds? Just copy your worlds into your new minetest
um, ok. I have linux- will that make a difference?? I installed it using Ubuntu Software Center.
The package on Ubuntu Software Center is very old.
You should get someone to create a more recent package, or compile it yourself.
Last edited by kaeza on Thu Dec 27, 2012 06:08, edited 1 time in total.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

2232 wrote:Linux is for people who.... Um. I guess for work??? anyways- Im just going to try to use mods.
I don't know if your saying its for work or calling me lazy
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

Why are you forced to use Linux? I use windows just fine
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

See this if you want to easily compile the latest Minetest version: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3837

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Calinou wrote:See this if you want to easily compile the latest Minetest version: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3837
0.3 (from the software center) doesn't allow the use of mods. I think you can also use software center to remove that minetest. You can also keep it, it doesn't take much space and doesn't harm new installations.


You could/should try Calinou's solution. If it doens't work you can also try one of the following.

http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 188#p54188

or this:
http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php ... 939#p51939
!!! cd celeron55-minetest-1db0334 ---> Look in your homefolder (filemanager) what the latest name is and use that name!!!

User avatar
Chinchow
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 21:37

by Chinchow » Post

2232 wrote:
Chinchow wrote:Why are you forced to use Linux? I use windows just fine
plz, just nvm.
All right
Sometimes, it's harder to think up a mod than it is to create it.
Mods: Orichalcum Stonebricks Extra Chests

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

2232 wrote: Ok. But how do I download the 4.0 or whatever version? Ive tried it many times, but idk where to put it n such. :(
If you follow Calinou's link you need to open your terminal (under accessoires), copy the whole line from Calinou and paste it the terminal. Fill in your password and it will automatically install the latest minetest in your homefolder.

I most of the times use the latest version, most popular mods are frequently updated/based on the latest minetest version.

Edit: The latest version is 0.4.4 (and then the latest version of the 0.4.4 series). You can see it here:

https://github.com/celeron55/minetest

As you can see half an hour ago was the latest change.
Last edited by Topywo on Thu Dec 27, 2012 15:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Mods need to be in this folder, where topywo is your name, maybe 2232 (edit1) and 0f1d2c1 is also different for you):

/home/topywo/celeron55-minetest-0f1d2c1/mods/minetest

There must be a txt file in it like this:

mods_here.txt

How? --> like this:

Download the mods from the forum. They will appear, in a zipped form, here:

/home/topywo/Downloads

Double click them to extract them. You need to browse to the folder:

/home/topywo/celeron55-minetest-0f1d2c1/mods/minetest

and then leftclick on extract.

If the mod (folder) name you extracted has numbers/author names in it, rename them (rightclicking, select rename), to the 'simple/short mod name'.

If you have problems with a mod, post the error in the mod topic on the forum. The errors appear in the file debug.txt in your homefolder (for me). Copy and paste only the lines with ERROR in them (bottom part of the file). If debug.txt is too long, delete it, restart minetest and then copy paste the ERROR:

/home/topywo

Good luck!


Edit:
- to delete this version of minetest, just delete the folder (you will still have the libraries, but they can be usefull for newer versions of minetest).
Last edited by Topywo on Thu Dec 27, 2012 20:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Go to:

/home/topywo/celeron55-minetest-0f1d2c1/bin

and doubleclick minetest

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

by 2232 » Post

Topywo wrote:Go to:

/home/topywo/celeron55-minetest-0f1d2c1/bin

and doubleclick minetest
But when I did that, it said 4.3. Should I uninstall 4.3 first??
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
2232
Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 15:26
Location: USA
Contact:

by 2232 » Post

I got it open :) Just gotta be smarter than the computer ._.
-2232
"I'll keep my eyes fixed on the sun..."
-Shake Me Down by Cage The Elephant

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

How many celeron55-minetest----- do you have in your /home/2232 folder?

If only one and if you used Calinous way of installing, it might only install 0.4.3. I didn't know that. I'll look into that.

edit: Calinous version doesn't look like it makes you install an older version.

edit1: Tried Calinous version out, it installs 0.4.4. It makes a 'minetest'-folder wihtout serial numbers.

edit2: typo
Last edited by Topywo on Thu Dec 27, 2012 21:35, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests