[Game] Technic [technic_game]

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

[Game] Technic [technic_game]

by RealBadAngel » Sun Jun 30, 2013 04:18

Technic game mode:
Github page: https://github.com/minetest-technic/technic_game
Download zip archive: http://amun.inchra.net/technic_game.zip

List of mods used in this game:
Technic
Pipeworks
Mesecons
Plantlife
Moreores
Moretrees
Moonflower

License: LGPLv2+ for Technic mod, all others mods that comes with the game have own licenses, read license files in their folders.

All the available craft recipes can be checked with using Unified Inventory's built-in Crafting Guide.

The default creative mod has been removed.

Changelog:
30.06.2013 1.0 Release.

For further assistance, questions, development discussion, etc., please visit #minetest-technic also.
Last edited by ShadowNinja on Sun Jul 19, 2015 23:02, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Update zip URL
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Sun Jun 30, 2013 04:42

How did you remove the default creative? If you just delete the mod's folder, won't the game be unable to work?
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Sun Jun 30, 2013 04:55

Inocudom wrote:How did you remove the default creative? If you just delete the mod's folder, won't the game be unable to work?

Unified Inventory replaces it completely.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4518
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun Jun 30, 2013 08:57

RealBadAngel wrote:
Inocudom wrote:How did you remove the default creative? If you just delete the mod's folder, won't the game be unable to work?

Unified Inventory replaces it completely.
It is true, however, you don't need to be giving in 99 item stacks anymore as we implemented infinite items a while back.
Last edited by Jordach on Sun Jun 30, 2013 08:58, edited 1 time in total.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:34

Jordach wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
Inocudom wrote:How did you remove the default creative? If you just delete the mod's folder, won't the game be unable to work?

Unified Inventory replaces it completely.
It is true, however, you don't need to be giving in 99 item stacks anymore as we implemented infinite items a while back.


Infinite stacks aren't good for testing crafting recipes, and item_drop might not work with them.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Sun Jun 30, 2013 20:34

After today, game pack is updated with UI style backgrounds for all the chest including default, completely new way to change infotext for silver and gold chests, added backgrounds for many LV machines, made lava renewable by default, changed lava cooling, many tweaks and smaller changes.
More to come :)

Silver chests (editing infotext)
Image

Gold Chest with color picker for filters:
Image
Last edited by RealBadAngel on Sun Jun 30, 2013 20:36, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Wed Jul 10, 2013 19:57

I think water flow is a little messed up in the technic game mode. Here is an image of how it flows in my technic game.

Image

and here is one of how it flows in the basic Minetest game.

Image

I just started a new game in the Minetest game mode and it flows more circularly.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jul 11, 2013 01:45

LionsDen wrote:I think water flow is a little messed up in the technic game mode. Here is an image of how it flows in my technic game.

....

I just started a new game in the Minetest game mode and it flows more circularly.


I dont think water flow is game related. Its engine stuff.
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Thu Jul 11, 2013 12:35

wait, what does color filtering in golden chest do?
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Thu Jul 11, 2013 15:04

I think it is related to mese sorting tubes in the pipeworks mod. Ask RealBadAngel.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
Mito551
Member
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 15:03

by Mito551 » Thu Jul 11, 2013 16:21

Dan Duncombe wrote:Ask RealBadAngel.


that's what I did. -_-"
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Thu Jul 11, 2013 17:00

Mito551 wrote:
Dan Duncombe wrote:Ask RealBadAngel.


that's what I did. -_-"


Thats a thingy that was in mind even before tubes were born.
Way to let know the tubes system wheres the receiver.
It was meant as a piece of sorting machines and storage system.
Tubes side is not yet implemented but i saw early test tree in vanessa's git.
Marking chest (and changing infotext) was aviable before, but were pain in the ass.
Now i made it pretty usable i think.

Back to marks. Lets use filter, it can have rules, like inventory.
Lets say rows:
1st row is marked green
2nd red
3rd blue
each of them have 3 slots to put example filter nodes
so player choose to put in first (green) cobble, stone and desert stone
2nd, dirt, gravel
3rd sand, desert sand
after passing filter each item will get the colour mark
if will fit any of the rules above it will be marked with the colour roo
if not, it will stay unmarked
then, colour marked items can go only to the chest (receiver) with mark of the very same colour
if not its travelling further
until it will find the destination or bounce back.
Unmarked items could only go to unmarked receivers.

So if u have inserted cobble in such circuit and put filter (or sorting machine, propably better solution) it will be given a colour, green in this example.
Item travelling will be blind for any receivers other than marked green simply.
So it can pass tubes line of 10 red chests connected and pick next one green.
Last edited by RealBadAngel on Thu Jul 11, 2013 17:13, edited 1 time in total.
 

playzooki
Member
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 18:58

by playzooki » Fri Jul 12, 2013 20:42

Gives error message

EDIT: Works though
Last edited by playzooki on Fri Jul 12, 2013 20:54, edited 1 time in total.
bad signature is bad
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Sat Jul 13, 2013 04:04

playzooki wrote:Gives error message

EDIT: Works though


what kind of errors? please do copy them
 

jeremitoo123
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 05:11

by jeremitoo123 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 05:25

how do you install a minigame
 

User avatar
vv221
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 08:18
Location: France

by vv221 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 06:09

In folder ~/.minetest/games, run "git clone https://github.com/RealBadAngel/technic_game".
That's it, you're done!

For future updates, go in folder ~/.minetest/games/technic_game and run "git pull".

Of course, you need to have git installed to have these commands work ;)

-----

@RealBadAngel : Are the new 32x32 textures from your Haven Pack?
I really love them!

-----

About the new textures, sizes of cobblestone one and overlay for chromium, uranium, zinc, silver, mithril and tin don't match.
(16x16 overlay on 32x32 textures)
Last edited by vv221 on Sat Jul 13, 2013 06:41, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Mon Jul 15, 2013 13:24

RealBadAngel: I don't know if this has been mentioned, but, pipeworks adds it's own chest textures, same as default but with a hole in the side. The problem is these textures are still used, and so the sides of the default chest are like minetest_game chests, whereas the front and top are from your texture pack.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.
 

User avatar
vv221
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 08:18
Location: France

by vv221 » Sat Jul 20, 2013 11:27

I post a copy of the README here, 'cause I've been wondering why I had empty folders in mods/ after a simple "git clone":

Cloning with git:
This repository uses submodules. In order to get all the parts of the
game you will need to run 'git submodule update --init' when you clone
and 'git submodule update' every time that the submodules are updated.
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Sat Jul 20, 2013 18:07

I am getting empty folders when downloading the game mode as well, the following folders are empty for me.

digilines
forth_computer
mesecons
moreblocks
moreores
moretrees
pipeworks
plantlife
technic

I don't know why it changed as the first time I downloaded it, it had everything and worked properly. I do know that for the past week or so, every time I try to download from github it fails the first time saying the file was not readable but allows me to download it fine the second time. Not sure if thats a change in github, my connection or my computer.
 

User avatar
vv221
Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 08:18
Location: France

by vv221 » Sun Jul 21, 2013 15:46

@ LionsDen: Read the post just above yours ;)
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Sun Jul 21, 2013 17:10

vv221 wrote:@ LionsDen: Read the post just above yours ;)


I don't clone the git repository. I use the download links in the first post.
 

Exilyth
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 18:46
Location: Earth

by Exilyth » Sat Aug 03, 2013 17:08

How does this gamemode differ from technic mod (aside from being a gamemode and comming with all the mods, ofc.)?
I'm running 0.4.13 stable with [technic][carts][farming_plus][biome_lib][unified_inventory] and a few other mods.
 

User avatar
durtective6
Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 14:19
Location: a shed in the desert
In-game: derplez or BlockFrog

by durtective6 » Wed Aug 14, 2013 08:23

i cant get it to work, can someone help me plz?
 

User avatar
LionsDen
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 03:19

by LionsDen » Wed Aug 14, 2013 14:30

durtective6 wrote:i cant get it to work, can someone help me plz?


If you are using the download links in the first post, it wont work because of some github problem. I don't know what happened as the first time I downloaded it, I got all of the directories and such but since then I haven't been able to get most of the files. Someone above mentioned cloning the github repository but I have no idea how to do it and frankly am not interested in learning how. I have since stopped using the mod/game mode because it's a pain (EDIT: to download) and all the abms in technic/mesecons/pipeworks slows the game to a crawl and quite often dips my fps below 10. When that happens, the game gets very close to crashing on me and has happened fairly often. It's hard to watch your fps when your trying to play.
Last edited by LionsDen on Wed Aug 14, 2013 14:31, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
ShadowNinja
Developer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 22:35
GitHub: ShadowNinja
IRC: ShadowNinja
In-game: ShadowNinja

by ShadowNinja » Mon Oct 14, 2013 20:06

LionsDen wrote:[...] a pain to download [...]

Because of submodules the GitHub download zip will not work properly, therefore I have uploaded a packaged version of the gamemode with all the mods included, the link is in the first post.
LionsDen wrote:[...] technic/mesecons/pipeworks slows the game to a crawl [...]

Technic has recently been significantly optimized.

Edit: Disabling fancy leaves should significantly increase FPS due to the number of leaves that moretrees adds.
Last edited by ShadowNinja on Wed Nov 13, 2013 20:02, edited 1 time in total.
The best way to contact me is usually IRC (InchraNet, freenode).
 

Next

Return to Game Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests