[Mod] Experimental mapgen [mg]

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

[Mod] Experimental mapgen [mg]

by Nore » Sat Sep 21, 2013 16:26

mg - Experimental Mapgen



A custom Lua-mapgen, with biomes, caves, villages, cliffs and ore generation.
Biomes:
  • Ocean
  • Dry grasslands
  • Wet grasslands
  • Forest
  • Jungle
  • Savanna
  • Desert
  • Tundra
  • Taiga
  • Beach
To use, enable the mod before playing a world for the first time (do not use it in an already used world).
Github repo: https://github.com/minetest-mods/mg
Screenshots:
+ Click to open!
Last edited by Nore on Tue Jan 26, 2016 20:49, edited 5 times in total.
 

jin_xi
Member
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 18:19
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Sat Sep 21, 2013 17:21

along with blockmen's wasteland mod, these would all make awesome biomes for the default mapgen (which could use some more biomes) :-)
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

by philipbenr » Sat Sep 21, 2013 20:06

I get this error:

Code: Select all
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\----\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: attempt to call field 'register_on_mapgen_init' (a nil value)
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]:     ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: in main chunk
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========


I run windows and I have a fairly new version of 0.4.7 from minetest github.

I want this so bad!!

PS: +100
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Sep 21, 2013 20:38

philipbenr wrote:I get this error:

Code: Select all
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\----\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: attempt to call field 'register_on_mapgen_init' (a nil value)
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]:     ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: in main chunk
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========


I run windows and I have a fairly new version of 0.4.7 from minetest github.

I want this so bad!!

PS: +100

Your Minetest version is outdated.
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

by philipbenr » Sat Sep 21, 2013 21:37

I can. This is soooooo awesome. I love this mod, and will use for a long time to come.
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sat Sep 21, 2013 22:10

Quick Update:
  • Wells added to Villages
I also reworked the building spawn code because it was broken
Image
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 22, 2013 00:31

Wow you even created flat areas for villages, i will have to study how you did this.
Good to see you include savanna and a dry grass texture, i just added both to slabrealm mod. Your biome system is similar to the slabrealm one:

Image

Hybrid Dog wrote:↓primitive, but fast, river system↓

Nice, how did you generate it, is it at sea level?
Last edited by paramat on Sun Sep 22, 2013 00:33, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Sun Sep 22, 2013 01:25

paramat wrote:Wow you even created flat areas for villages, i will have to study how you did this.
Good to see you include savanna and a dry grass texture, i just added both to slabrealm mod. Your biome system is similar to the slabrealm one:

http://i.imgur.com/ZOt7zx0.gif

Hybrid Dog wrote:↓primitive, but fast, river system↓

Nice, how did you generate it, is it at sea level?


The way I look at it, Hybrid Dog, paramat, and Nore could work together.
Recovering from the abomination I am. Clocking time for Garry's Mod I am too.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 22, 2013 02:39

We already do by reading each others code :)
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Sep 22, 2013 05:09

paramat, I looked at your biome map to create mine ;)
Moreover, I finally fixed the caves (the problem was that coordinates were floating-point). So that means: no more buggy caves and shadows, so caves are near the surface again.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:14

Cool :) I look forward to trying this mapgen in 0.4.8 stable. I realised this must be the flattening and smoothing-of-transition methods you have mentioned before.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:17

Not exactly, but not for from it (the thing I had done was too slow and a bit buggy).
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:24

Pinetrees incoming!
Image
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:25

Best pines i've seen, now you can have taiga and tundra biomes and have all 8 biomes.
Last edited by paramat on Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:26, edited 1 time in total.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:33

Now pines generate in taiga biomes, and have snow on the top!
Last edited by Nore on Sun Sep 22, 2013 07:33, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

by paramat » Sun Sep 22, 2013 08:17

There's a new screenshot in the first post of the snowy pines, they are sooo beautiful, i have a 'thing' for snowy landscapes (and north European black metal of course).
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 08:26

paramat wrote:There's a new screenshot in the first post

I made that screenshot :)
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Sep 22, 2013 09:17

We need builders for the villages:
* the buildings should not be too big
* they should use default materials

Building ideas:
- Forge
- Inn
- Church
- Library
- Several house types
- etc.
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Sep 22, 2013 09:48, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 09:59

New Screenshot in the first post!
Image
New Buildings:
* More houses
* Fountains
* Cotton fields
Last edited by sfan5 on Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:08, edited 1 time in total.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:43

Nore wrote:We need builders for the villages:

It would be great to have a place to exchange schematics of houses in the new, compact .mts format.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

aron1263
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 06:24

by aron1263 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:50

PilzAdam wrote:
philipbenr wrote:I get this error:
Code: Select all
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\----\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: attempt to call field 'register_on_mapgen_init' (a nil value)
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]:     ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: in main chunk
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
I run windows and I have a fairly new version of 0.4.7 from minetest github.
I want this so bad!!
PS: +100
Your Minetest version is outdated.
Im also having that error but i have the new version of minetest.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:57

aron1263 wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
philipbenr wrote:I get this error:
Code: Select all
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\----\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: attempt to call field 'register_on_mapgen_init' (a nil value)
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
13:03:09: ERROR[main]:     ...\Game Data\minetest-0.4.7 - Copy\bin\..\mods\mg\init.lua:4: in main chunk
13:03:09: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
I run windows and I have a fairly new version of 0.4.7 from minetest github.
I want this so bad!!
PS: +100
Your Minetest version is outdated.
Im also having that error but i have the new version of minetest.

You need a newer version of Minetest.
Try my or Fess builds
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Sun Sep 22, 2013 13:43

The villages are now much better: instead of being a bunch of buildings thrown together, there are roads, etc. Moreover, the villages are bigger.
 

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
 
Posts: 3772
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
Location: Germany
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5

by sfan5 » Sun Sep 22, 2013 14:00

Like this
Image
(Screenshot by BlockMen)
or this
Image
(Screenshot by me)
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sofar and 5 guests