[Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

Post Reply
User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

[Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by stu » Post

Screenshot
Image

Minetest version: 0.4.9-dev (current dev)
Depends: default
Download: version 0.1.0
Browse Code: github

Adds miniature node-like objects, purely for fun and decoration.
Micronodes can be placed on any pointed node or other micronode face,
they will automatically snap to the closest grid position.
Just like ordinary nodes, use right-click to place and left-click to dig.

This mod is probably best suited to creative mode, however an optional
micronode cutting laser has been added for those wishing to use this in
a survival game.

Issues

Servers can get upset if they find too many active objects in one place
and may randomly remove stuff. If you have problems then try increasing
max_objects_per_block in minetest.conf

Note: Requires a recent development build that includes the following commits
#1b5b6fe: Pass pointed_thing to on_punch and minetest.register_on_punchnode callbacks
#c9b6420: Fix error when calling minetest.node_punch without a pointed_thing
These should be present in most windows builds by now.
Last edited by stu on Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:35, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

OOh, stu delivered!

Nice mod, like always =D
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4562
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

by Krock » Post

Horray! The Micronodes are here!
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

by CraigyDavi » Post

This is brilliant! Thanks for another great mod stu!

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

by RHR » Post

stu wrote:Just like ordinary nodes, use left-click to place and right-click to dig.
Are we playing the same game ... ??? o.O

BTW: I love this mod. ^^

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

by stu » Post

RHR wrote:
stu wrote:Just like ordinary nodes, use left-click to place and right-click to dig.
Are we playing the same game ... ??? o.O

BTW: I love this mod. ^^
Oops! well spotted (updated)

Thanks for all the encouraging comments so far guys,

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Absolutely incredible! It has it's issues, but that is to be expected. I never though you could do something like this in minetest.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

by RHR » Post

Just an idea:
Would it be possible to add something like 3D crafting. Using micronodes for crafting nodes and items in a 3x3x3 grid? Although 2x2x2 would even be enough for all moreblocks stair-like nodes.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

by stu » Post

Evergreen wrote:Absolutely incredible! It has it's issues, but that is to be expected. I never though you could do something like this in minetest.
Thanks, it was mostly written as a technical exercise and because others said it could not be done ;-)
If nothing else there are some useful routines in there that others may find helpful.

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

by stu » Post

RHR wrote:Just an idea:
Would it be possible to add something like 3D crafting. Using micronodes for crafting nodes and items in a 3x3x3 grid? Although 2x2x2 would even be enough for all moreblocks stair-like nodes.
Love this idea but I think I will leave that for someone else to implement ;-)
Last edited by stu on Mon Apr 07, 2014 22:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
Location: Lithuania

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by davidthecreator » Post

Omg omg omg micro nodes wow sooo cool

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
Location: Slovakia

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by AMMOnym » Post

  • Image
I Like It !

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: MinetestForFun
IRC: MinetestForFun
In-game: MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Good work ! :)

User avatar
dpbqRman
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 08:15
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by dpbqRman » Post

Are you planning on adding mesecons?
o__l_ dpbqR o-l&&&&&

User avatar
dpbqRman
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 08:15
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by dpbqRman » Post

Could you add mesecons to size?
o__l_ dpbqR o-l&&&&&

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier
Location: some were in middle earth

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by RSLRedstonier » Post

dpbqRman wrote:Could you add mesecons to size?
that would probably be impossible or if not extremely difficult and laggy

mesecons has to register hundreds of items for all the different wire placements and this doesn't use nodes it uses entity's or objects so every micronode isn't even a node its an entity
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568

User avatar
stu
Member
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
GitHub: stujones11
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by stu » Post

RSLRedstonier wrote:
dpbqRman wrote:Could you add mesecons to size?
that would probably be impossible or if not extremely difficult and laggy

mesecons has to register hundreds of items for all the different wire placements and this doesn't use nodes it uses entity's or objects so every micronode isn't even a node its an entity
Indeed, this is a very out-dated mod, I'd be surprised if it still even works. There are likely better ways to do this now but I never really intended this to be more than an experimental bit of fun. The 3d crafting idea was an interesting one though.

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier
Location: some were in middle earth

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by RSLRedstonier » Post

-deleated
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568

getinfonanyang
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 03:55
GitHub: nanyangjoss

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by getinfonanyang » Post

Nice it's compatible for new version ?
stu wrote:Screenshot
Image

Minetest version: 0.4.9-dev (current dev)
Depends: default
Download: version 0.1.0
Browse Code: github

Adds miniature node-like objects, purely for fun and decoration.
Micronodes can be placed on any pointed node or other micronode face,
they will automatically snap to the closest grid position.
Just like ordinary nodes, use right-click to place and left-click to dig.

This mod is probably best suited to creative mode, however an optional
micronode cutting laser has been added for those wishing to use this in
a survival game.

Issues

Servers can get upset if they find too many active objects in one place
and may randomly remove stuff. If you have problems then try increasing
max_objects_per_block in minetest.conf

Note: Requires a recent development build that includes the following commits
#1b5b6fe: Pass pointed_thing to on_punch and minetest.register_on_punchnode callbacks
#c9b6420: Fix error when calling minetest.node_punch without a pointed_thing
These should be present in most windows builds by now.

User avatar
dibesfer
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2020 12:14
In-game: dibesfer
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by dibesfer » Post

This mod is fantastic! Hope you keep it growing :) Thank you

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests